UR Grad Student seeking one-on-one math tutor (E)

I am a 3rd grade teacher in Chesterfield County (Watkins Elementary) and current graduate student at UR.  Recently I have been tasked with finding a volunteer for my classroom to help a particular student of mine in need of some additional math help.  I’m looking for an Education student (although a psychology or sociology student would be great as well), who could come to my classroom once a week (or more if possible) from 9:30-10:30 to work with this student of mine.  My student is a GREAT kid who is having trouble with basic math.  He is very polite and hardworking and a JOY to teach.  It breaks my heart to see him struggle so much, and I simply cannot devote the one-on-one attention he needs.  He needs someone who can play some math games with him and help him build basic number sense, adding/subtracting, and problem solving.  I’ll give any volunteer all the directions/materials they need.  They won’t have to do any prep (unless they’d like to). I’d be happy to provide any information necessary to allow the volunteer to get practicum credit, letters of recommendation, etc.

Emily Pytlik

3rd Grade

J.B. Watkins Elementary

www.jbwatkinspta.com<http://www.jbwatkinspta.com/

